Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The focus when constructing a building has remained a contentious issue, eliciting polarizing perspectives. Some individuals firmly believe that practicality should be prioritized over exterior look. However, upon reflection, I assert that both criteria are equally important in this process.

Those who advocate for visual appeal may emphasize its monetization and economic benefits it confers on the local economy. Notably, people and tourists may be easily intrigued by visually stunning buildings. By attracting throngs of tourists, such structures may be monetized and become famous tourist destinations, bringing substantial income to the local residents and reducing unemployment rates. To exemplify, Big Ben Tower, which showcases aesthetic design and impressive architectural style, is one of the top attractions among foreign tourists once they arrive in London, being the most contributor to this city’s yearly income. Thus, the monetization of aesthetically appealing structures could catalyse economic invigoration in the local community.

Moreover, proponents of inner functions may argue on the basis of efficient land use. Admittedly, when buildings are fully equipped with latest facilities serving the prearranged purposes such as industrial or residential ones, their functionality and usability may be enhanced, optimizing the land based on the function and use, allowing it to be used to the fullest potential. This sentiment finds its resonance in schools, which is characterised by optimal classroom arrangement to streamline the daily movement process. Furthermore, hospitals are always erected systematically to serve emergency purposes. Therefore, arranging a functional layout is of equal importance because it may utilise the land properly by serving particular purposes.

In conclusion, although some people contend that inner practicality deserves more attention than exterior design, I opine that both criteria should be equally emphasized in the construction process. While efficient inner layout helps develop land usage to the full potential, prioritization of visual appeal could attract travel enthusiasts, boosting the local economy.