Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A majority of individuals argue that an essential factor to consider in designing a building is optimize its function instead of focus on its external appearance. Personally, I partially agree with this statement due to some reasons.

Supporters of function-oriented buildings are strongly convinced that the practicality in architectural design should take precedence over other factors. This is because not only does prioritizing the function of an edifice help optimize available resources which could be otherwise allocated to enhancing the external look, but it also helps accommodate booming population in several countries. Furthermore, paying attention to how a building serves our needs could possibly lead to more lands to be saved from indiscriminate construction.

Reversely, many people are opposed to the idea that a building’s function should be a main focus, since investing in its look is also an indispensible thing. Concrete jungle appears to be an outstanding urban issue in recent years. Most urban dwellers in Seoul, according to a recent study, say blocks of apartments render the entire city landscape a monotonous look and they anticipate a breath of new architectural designs to be injected into the metropolitan areas. Additionally, inadequate investment in a building’s appearance from the beginning is projected to consume more time and capital for the restorement process in case it fails to withstand endogenous elements like extreme weather.

Consequently, a combined method that incorporates enhancement of the aesthetics of a building into ensuring it is constructed with a clear “mission” is of tantamount importance. Such approach both benefits the urban landscape and ensure the long-term values of a building.