Some people choose to live in a rural area, while others cannot imagine their life anywhere but the city. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The question about a desirable place of living – the countryside or the city – causes some debate. Proponents of rural areas advocate for its peaceful, nature-oriented life, while opponents appeal to the fact that modern urban centres are essential for fulfilling existence. Personally, I agree with the former view, since countryside’s natural beauty provide a healthier and more meaningful life.

It is accepted by many that the rural regions offer a superior and more balanced quality of life. Undoubtedly, villages and countryside have a cleaner, quieter atmosphere, without noise and air pollution that are common in large cities. Dwellers have an opportunity to be closer to nature, which contributes to better physical and mental well-being. Furthermore, life in a village is related to the slower pace and close-knit community. This sense of stability and belonging to a certain society is highly appreciated, particularly for the family life. Living surrounded by natural landscapes encourages individuals to prioritise a harmonious lifestyle, listen to their own desires and leads to deeper connections with people.

On the other hand, there is a belief that metropolises provide the necessary infrastructure and services for personal achievement and professional growth. Urban areas are associated with constant access to various universities, specialised hospitals, diverse career opportunities, and vibrant cultural places for recreation. This concentration of resources facilitates an intense and cosmopolitan lifestyle. However, even if the city offers seemingly perfect conditions for career advancement, this often comes at a considerable cost to overall well-being. The intensity of urban life can lead to anxiety and isolation, while the countryside life prioritises health and peace over mere material or professional enhancement.

In conclusion, while the dynamic opportunities of the city life are attractive to some, I firmly believe that the healthier environment and community bonds in rural areas provide a more sustainable and fulfilling existence. The peace of mind and connection to nature found outside the city are more valuable than personal and material gains of urban living.