Some people dislike changes in their society and in their own lives, and want things to stay the same. Why do some people want things to stay the same? Why should change be regarded as something positive? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It does not come as a surprise that as humans, we tend to stick to our old way of living and to not welcome change. This is our nature and we are all share this feeling. However, if we simply ignore the importance of change, progress, and development, we are doomed to to stay the same forever.

People who prefer to stay the same and spend their lives in a similar manner have good reasons to feel that way. First of all, for many people, change is the equivalent of coming out of their comfort zones and therefore, they find it difficult to accept it and consider as something negative. Secondly, having motivation to create great changes in life requires energy, time and effort, and many people find this quite difficult, or even undoable. For instance, it is not easy for many to lose ten kilos of fat by exercising and dieting, therefore making it impossible for them to accept that they need to change. Lastly, for some people, living life differently means abondoning their previous way of life. As such, it is simply unacceptable for a white, christian male to accept a gay man as he is, and not an abomination.

On the other hand, there are those who embrace change and all the benefits that comes with it. They have a positive view on evolving. Although, this viewpoint can result in some discomfort, these people come to terms with the necessity of it and therefore accept it. Imagine a man that suffers from an unhealthy habit, such as excessive masturbation. If he does not feel the need to change, his issue will affect his life greatly. He understands the necessity and will embrace the process of reshaping his life with the help of a psychologist. Another benefit of welcoming change is the chance to experience new things in life, such as eating foreign food, traveling to other countries, meeting people from other cultures and so forth.

In conclusion, I believe that change is a natural part of our lives and we must accept it so that we can grow and reshape our lives for the better. Despite the urge to stay the same, we must rise above this feeling and accept the truth: to live and grow as a conscious human being, we need to improve, develope and change constantly.