Some people feel that cities should allow for spaces for graffiti while others feel it should be banned. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

Opinions diverge when it comes to whether graffiti should be permitted or not. Some argue that urban areas should make room for spray paint art. While acknowledging the notion that this form of art can enhance the cityscape, I posit that it should be prohibited as it helps criminal activities.

It is understandable why some advocate the permission of graffiti. Perhaps for them, it is a unique form of art. Granted, street art helps beautify the urban landscape which otherwise would be dull and lifeless with just concrete structures all around. One poignant example can be drawn from Melbourne where they have successfully turned the area into a cultural landmark by showcasing street art, thus attracting tourists and boosting local prices.

Irrespective of the aforementioned arguments, I am among the proponents of the belief that wall art should be banned. The key rationale behind this is that this art form is associated with crime and social disorder such as gang activity, territorial marking, and antisocial behavior. For instance, criminal gangs usually use this type of paint to communicate with their gang members or their enemies. Therefore, by allowing spray paint art, the government could unintentionally help criminal activities and the crime level of the city might increase.

To recapitulate, while the sentiment that wall art should be allowed is somewhat justifiable, I contend that it is better to forbid this form of art. However, it is important to recognize the artistic value it brings to the urban landscape. Hence, it is recommended that the city should also allow for designated spaces where street art is encouraged, supported, and even curated.