Some people feel that entertainers (e.g. film stars, pop musicians or sports stars) are paid too much money. Do you agree or disagree? Which other types of job should be highly paid?

Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate over whether high-profile individuals are given excessive money. I strongly agree with this view because the less money is spent on celebrities, the more money can be invested in public funding and improving infrastructure; moreover, with this money, important issues, such as famine and poverty, can be mitigated.

The primary reason for my agreement is that a lot of money is given to prominent figures; however, in return, they do not make any important contribution to society. Today, numerous people find it difficult to access healthcare and education across several countries. This mainly stems from governments, as they cannot fund these sectors substantially, which inevitably leads to higher death and illiteracy rates. The salaries of celebrities can be lowered and allocated to hospitals and educational institutions. Consequently, it will enable more citizens to benefit from these two essential things, which play a pivotal role in both society and countries.

Additionally, there are many countries around the world where many people suffer from famine and poverty. Rather than giving them more money, developed countries can send it to underdeveloped countries, namely African countries. As a result of this, unemployment will directly decrease, creating many employment opportunities. Furthermore, it will be available to more people to access food, which will save countless lives. Hence, this reason clearly demonstrates that with that money, assistance to developing nations could be highly beneficial instead of paying high-earning icons so much money.

In conclusion, after considering this issue carefully, I am more convinced that celebrities get higher salaries than they should. Their salaries can be invested in hospitals, schools and universities; in addition, helping developing nations financially with that money can put less pressure on the economy of these countries.