Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people nowadays have decided to stop flying or to limit the amount of times they use this form of transport. This will undoubtedly have great benefits for the environment, but it may mean that for individuals or businesses this can translate to higher expenses. I believe the disadvantages for individuals and businesses would be greater than the effects on the environment. This essay will discuss advantages and disadvantages of this

Environmental benefits of reduced airtravel would have a direct effect in the amount of pollution in the air, which would mean a greener planet. However, this would also mean a rise in the use of other types of transportation. For example, if the amount of cars, buses or trucks on the road increases this also means greenhouse gas emissions increase too.

On the other hand, for individuals or businesses this could mean higher travelling costs, as well as lengthy trips and possible delays in reaching their destinations. All of this can affect the companies resources and even possibly cause them to lose business deals, or not even commence them due to restricted trading times. Higher costs for companies can cause job cuts which can have devastating effects for families.

In conclusion, I believe the disadvantages on individuals and businesses caused by a reduction in air travel are far greater. The potential implications for companies of higher travel and shipping costs, could reflect losses that can eventuate in job cuts. The effects on the environment would not be enough to merit such a drastic culture change and possibly pollution levels could rise as a result of the increase on other contaminants.