Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is now often observed that many people have reduced the frequency of their travelling by aeroplanes, and some people have even stopped flying completely. While there are some ecological advantages associated with this situation, I argue that the disadvantages far exceed the benefits.

On the one hand, there are some benefits linked to this declining trend of people’s flying. Firstly, this will reduce the consumption of kerosene oil, which is used as a fuel in planes. As a result, it will mitigate the release of harmful gases into the air, thus improving the air quality. Secondly, an airport demands a huge area for operating, if people will stop using flights, it will discourage the development of new airports. Thus, it will cut down the environmental degradation, preventing deforestation. Hence, ultimately it will contribute to environmental sustainability.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages linked to this situation, which cannot be overlooked. One of the main drawbacks is decline in tourism. Since economy of many countries depends upon the revenue generated through tourism. Therefore, when fewer times individuals will fly, it will not only affect the airline companies but it will also affect the local businesses, including restaurants and shopping centers at the airport. For instance, when Emirates increased the prices of their tickets, individuals curtailed travelling by air, undoubtedly, which affected numerous local corporations.

In conclusion, it is accurate that there are certain advantages of people not travelling by air. However, I believe that it impacts a lot of sectors whose business mainly relies on working of airports.