Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays the decision of reducing the frequency of air travel or quitting travelling altogether has become a notable topic of discussion, especially in the context of environmental sustainability. Although this effort could have its own advantages, I believe that the drawbacks prevail over the benefits.

On the one hand, there might be several advantages to this trend. The first possible factor is that a decline in air travel frequency may result in less air pollution, which is extremely important not only for the environment, but also for public health and life expectancy. Another key benefit is the message of promoting reduced pollution through conscientious travel choices. For instance, this collective effort could foster a culture of sustainability, leading to substantial changes in ecological practices.

On the other hand, I think that the negative aspects of diminished flying are far more significant. One of the major disadvantages is an adverse impact on profitability of airline companies, which are continually striving to attract new customers to various destinations. For example, if fewer people will opt for travelling by plane, companies will face considerable troubles in gaining customers and developing new marketing strategies. Another serious concern is the shift towards other means of transport as a result of a decline in air travel. In detail, aviation is considered one of the safest modes of travel, characterised by a substantially lower rate of accidents as compared to different forms of transport. So, travelling by car or by train instead of flying could affect one’s safety. Finally, it is crucial to acknowledge that this measure might only be not as impactful as the investment in development of sustainable transport.

In conclusion, while the decision to fly rarely might lead to some advantages, such as less air pollution and the overall promotion of green travel, I am convinced that negative factors, including severe impact on air travel businesses sales, diminished safety and inefficiency, substantially outweigh them. Nevertheless, the collective effort to reduce flights can lay the foundation for much more effective methods to protect the environment.