Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Every year, a number of people are taking a decision to fly less, or quitting to fly. I agree that, this will affect positively on the environment, and in future, its benefits will outweigh any disadvantages faced by people or organisations.

There are different reasons, which are in favour of my argument. First of all, if the number of flyers will fall significantly, it will decrease the number of flights dramatically. Less flights means decrease in air pollution. Which will definitely prevent the people from developing any diseases related to lungs and breathing, and with less number of patients in hospitals, the amount of money needed to spend there will decrease. It will also decrease the burden on the health care providers, and they will have more time to look after for other patients. This can help and individual in future, because there is a chance that he will receive better care, and also will have to wait less for appointment. The governments will also have to spend less on health, and these funds could be spent in other sectors.

Secondly, better environment leads to more stable natural phenomenons. There will be less storms, floods, landslides or events of natural disaters. With less natural disaters, a great number of lives will be saved. It will help not only help a person individually, but also will give more time to governments to focus on other problems. For instance, if there is a flood in any region, government has to provide help to citizens by giving them food, shelter and financial help to rebuild the infrastructure. If the flood can be prevented, then there will be no need to provide relief to the masses, and all this time and money can be used to help the people facing other problems, or to improve the existing infrastructure.

Due to above arguments, i believe that, if there is less number of flyers and less flights, then it will positively effect environment, and its advantages will outweigh its disadvantages.