Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

There is an ongoing debate on whether people should travel less or even refrain from traveling. While I firmly believe that flying is a nuisance to the enviornment, I can’t deny the importance of a number of flights.

It goes without saying that flights’ emissions and fuel consumption are abnormally high which automatically leads to global warming and poor quality of air, degrading the life of all living creatures in earth and putting not only endangered animals at risk but the entire humanity as well. Current numbers indicate a terrifying ressources’ deplition rate and scientists alarm us of extinction and urge current generations to minimize the overusage of planes.

However, individuals travel for pleasure and businesses, for instance, presenting research findings, diplomatic affaires, or for medical emergenices. Plus, there’s no other mean of transportation that could replace planes and is more sustainable. Thus, cutting off flying brings major disadvantages to individuals and business, let alone our economy. As a matter of fact, since flying is a mean of goods’ transportation, it is crucial to keep the economy running.

To sum up, traveling is not sustainable but it is at the same time vital. Whilst I’m not against cutting it off altogether, I encourage to refrain its usage for unecessary flights, especially those that can be easily replaced by public transportation, as it’s more green.