: "Some people learn a foreign language for travel or work, while others believe it helps in personal development or career advancement. Discuss both views and give your own opinion."

It is true that learning a new language is becoming popular for different reasons. Some,including me, say that this helps to remove boundaries which prevent traveling or being employed in a foreign country, whereas others might argue that it helps to build a discipline or get a promotion in one’s current workplace.

On the one hand, it might be said that learning foreign language helps individuals to build a discipline,since it takes so much time and effort in order to master it. Building a strong discipline is quite challenging in today’s modern world,so learning an international language might help individuals to become determined,as it is one of the most important skills in order to become successful. In addition to that,if individuals manage to master discipline,they are most likely to get promoted in their current workplace.

On the other hand, most individuals learn languages to be able to travel, exploring new culture. In this way,they also get a chance to meet with people with different backgrounds,which also allows them to broaden their understanding. The second reason, which is quite often seen, is that many people want to get a job in a foreign country with better prospects,as it offers high salaries and different job opportunities.

All in all,it seems to me that most people learn languages to travel around the world or have more job experiences. However, there are other reasons,say, advancement in one’s current workplace.