Some people point out that it is better to buy local products than to buy imported products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that governments should encourage individuals to purchase goods produced within their locality instead of imported ones. From my perspective, buying locally produced goods is more advantageous because it reduces the risk of potential diseases due to importation and it develops the economy of the country at large.

One significant reason why citizens should purchase local goods is that it lowers the risk of diseases introduced into the country during importation. Presently, there is a high rate of spread of contagious diseases, particularly between countries, and this has been largely caused by international trades and exchanges. As a result, there is a heightened exposure to pandemics. For instance, diseases are significantly spread across countries, especially in Africa, when infected cow skins are imported from other nations. In other words, purchasing locally produced goods are safer and more beneficial.

Furthermore, purchasing goods produced within a particular locality significantly grows the economy of that country. When residents purchase goods locally produced, they not only generate more revenue for the producers, but also, they contribute to the economy of the country. This is exemplified by paying for fruits and vegetables produced by local farmers. As a result, more funds are generated for commercial farmers similarly, the revenue of the country is being increased.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that purchasing locally produced goods is more advantageous because it mitigates the risk of disease spread and it develops more revenue for a country.