Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Nowadays, more and more people are becoming immersed in the digital world of video games. I am most certainly sure that playing video games has its own benefits and drawbacks, which definitely outweigh the positive aspects in number.

Initially, this seemingly harmless activity, for some people, seemed to be a great stress buster and lightened their mood into the bargain; however, video games, as it turned out, are immensely addictive activities. As a consequence, people begin to devote less time to their families and communication with friends; they start to lose interpersonal skills and live in an unreal, futuristic computer universe. First of all, video games devour a considerable and valuable amount of time that could be spent on beneficial activities and personal development. Secondly, computer addictions are frequently experienced in conjunction with gambling, which has a detrimental effect on addicted people’s lives, ranging from financial problems to personal relationship issues. Finally, the violence shown in such games is often interpreted and assimilated unconsciously. Furthermore, for instance, a person under 18 years old, having played a restricted game and seen violence or discrimination in the computer world, might use it in the real world with real humans.

Although, at the same time, this activity, with appropriate treatment, enables people to relax and find their peace of mind. Sometimes, a busy person full of negative emotions, can be cured and feel better playing such games, as it brings joy and elation. Additionally, games are widely played for educational purposes, especially among teenagers. They can enhance language skills and provide real-based historical stories.

Summarizing, in spite of a decent number of benefits computer games can bring, the drawbacks and negative effects have a higher chance of spoiling people, making them addicted zombies. I strongly believe that our world would be more sophisticated and people more intelligent without such a time-wasting hobby.