Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The role of television in society has long been a subject of debate. Popular TV programs should be aimed at informing viewers about important social issues. I completely agree that although entertainment content is important for recreation, not all popular TV programs should be aimed solely at achieving this goal.

Firstly, television has a powerful influence on public opinion and can play a significant role in raising awareness of important social issues. Programs that address topics such as climate change, mental health, and issues in society can inform and educate viewers, potentially contributing to social change. For example, documentaries and dramas that highlight these issues can spark discussions and inspire audiences to take action.Thus, television can bring acute issues to the forefront of public discussion.

Secondly, thanks to educational TV programs, the level of education among students will increase. Since many students are not interested in reading books and articles in magazines, an easy way is to watch an educational TV program on any topic that will interest the student in any case. A good example would be the National Geographic TV channel, which summarizes the life of different animals in different parts of the world. Hence, this will help the younger generation to improve their knowledge in various fields.