Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe viewers of television most be educated about important social problems with the help of all the entertainment programs. Although this theory could be really utile, it will make some issues in a long time.

Speaking about social issues in a TV program, which has too many viewers, could have an undeniable positive effect on people’s social behaviors. As a result of this, people will pay much more attention on their morals in the society. Considering their powerful impression, these programs could make a huge change; for example, we see how late-night shows are impressing people’s minds in United States. Moreover, reviewing these issues in more specialized programs, like in the news or debates, would be effect people’s way of thinking. if the governments of a country have a proper plan for educating society with the help of national TV, the country will have fewer social issues. But these are just one side of this theory.

There are some disadvantages about informing people in entertainment TV shows which we must consider. First of all, speaking about a subject in media could lead us to a kind of propaganda. This phenomenon could cause the opposite effect that we searching for. What I mean is, when people hear something to much, they like to protest and behave against it; especially, if it is an obligation. For example, we could see how Iranian people behave when IRTV news ask people not to buy something; in these situations, there will be ques of men and women to buy that thing. After that, popular programs will lose their viewers, if they consist on something and mention that too much.

In conclusion, this action will have a great effect on society, if it is executed in a right way, but in other ways it will be a huge failure.