Some people say that E-books and modern technology will totally replace traditional newspapers and magazines to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, in the modern era of technology, it is said that Ebooks and other new solutions will completely substitute traditional newspapers and magazines. I mostly agree with this assumption, due to the fact that we can already see some changes in our lives.

First of all, reading Ebooks and browsing internet news portals instead of books and newspapers are far more environmentally friendly. We can drastically lower our paper consumption by simply using alternative sources of information, this way contributing to saving our planet. Although, some people say that spending time in front of a screen is not beneficial for one’s health, this way so many trees could be saved from being cut down.

On the other hand, Ebooks can hold a bigger amount of information than a same-sized book. Hundreds of creations from our favorite authors can be stored in a small device. Similarly, with the help of our laptops or smartphones, we are just a few clicks away from news from all over the world. Then who would still read the newspaper and go to the library? While using replacements instead of the traditional sources of information is getting increasingly popular, holding a hard-cover edition of your favorite novel or a magazine in your hand has a completely different feeling than looking at a small electronic. Some even would say, that the smell of the paper while reading cannot be replaced with anything else. Maybe in the future there will be a groundbreaking invention for reproducing the same feeling without the use of paper, but for now, I think this is the main reason why it is not possible to fully eliminate books and magazines from our lives.

In conclusion, I think that modern technology will mostly substitute traditional magazines and newspapers, but the printed press will always be needed by the world.