Some people say that in the digital age, theatres and cinemas are no longer important as people can watch all the entertainment they want online. Others argue that theatres and cinemas are still important both economically and culturally.

It’s often argued that digital technologies have made theaters and cinemas obsolete because people can easily access entertainment online. However, others believe that these venues remain valuable for economic and culture. Although technologies have transformed the way people consume entertainment, I still believe that theaters and cinemas play a significant role in contemporary times.

On the one hand, there are certain factors that have made a lot of people consider theaters and cinemas less relevant today. Firstly, online streaming services provide access to movies, television shows and live performances, wherever and whenever you want. Moreover, online entertainment allows people to pause, rewatch theatre performances or films, supplying flexibility and convenience. Secondly, home entertainment saves time and money that you spend on driving and tickets. Consequently, many individuals prefer convenience of digital technologies over theaters and cinemas.

On the other hand, I believe that there is still relevance of theater and cinema in modern society. They continue to make necessary economic and cultural contributions. In terms of economics, theatre companies and cinema chains give employment opportunities to a lot of people, also they are profitable businesses and support other local businesses. From a cultural perspective, theaters provide unique live performances that screens can’t replicate. Likewise, going to the cinema gives people a wide range of emotions that are difficult to experience at home. As a result, nowadays theatre events and cinema auditoriums are full of people. For example, theater performance of The Nutcracker in Astana annually gathers a hundreds of people with expensive tickets. This shows that public still appreciates life experience, despite the advanced technologies.

In conclusion, no doubt digital technologies have changed people’s preferences in entertainment, I believe that they cannot completely make traditional theaters and cinemas irrelevant. Their economic benefits and cultural value ensure that they will continue to play a crucial role in modern society.