Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays is much better than it was in the past. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The population all around the world is increasing rapidly, and many countries are experiencing a growing elderly population. While some people believe that the modern world is absolutely rough for seniors, other people, including me, argue that this world brings more conditions to improve old people’s lives.

On the negative side, certain individuals believe that aging in the modern world poses considerable challenges. First of all, technological advancements such as the Internet and social media which have platforms not familiar with older people. Older people might be not familiar with modern services, Internet or social media while those devices are popular among young people. It is common that younger members of the family spend most of their time online and often discuss news on social media and the elderly find it difficult to engage in such conversations. This widens the generation gap making older people more lonely. Another issue is environmental pollution caused by the exhaust fumes from factories or from vehicles. Seniors, as a result, face more health problems and suffer a higher risk of diseases such as respiratory diseases, which can exacerbate the problem of weaker immunity of older people. This would prevent older people from enjoying their life.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why life for the elderly in the modern world is perceived as better than in the past. First of all, the development of science leads to higher quality healthcare facilities, which was completely inaccessible in the past. Because of that, older people’s diseases can be diagnosed better and they can gain more fulfillment and satisfaction in their lives. Secondly, governments tend to focus more on older people’s demands by building more healthcare, educational and recreational facilities such as nursing homes, parks, and courses for the elderly. Especially, more young people volunteer to help older people to use technological devices to enhance their connections with their beloved ones. For instance, they instruct the elderly to make video calls with family members, or participate in different online groups to connect with people all over the world, which helps the elderly feel less isolated in this technological era.

To conclude, the modern world, especially with the development of the technology era and environmental pollution, can be exhausting for seniors. However, I believe that more convenient facilities have been built and established to help the old people have a better life now and in the future. I also argue that people will pay more attention to enhancing older people’s lives as society develops.