Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays is much better than it was in the past. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this contemporary era, there is an ongoing discussion regarding the life of elderly people. Some individuals contend that they currently experience a higher living standard than in the earlier times, whereas others do not advocate this viewpoint. In the following essay, I will discuss both two views and present my proponent toward the former standpoint.

On the one hand, these days, the fast pace of life potentially separates young generations from their parents and grandparents. To be more specific, due to the availability of job vacancies in major cities where companies are frequently based, a huge number of young adults leave their hometown to pursue their dream jobs. This leads to the deepened existing generation gap, thereby contributing to an inharmonious home atmosphere and the deterioration of the senior citizens’ mental well-being.

Despite the argument above, I firmly suppose that the quality of life has been significantly enhanced for the elderly in recent years. Firstly, unlike poor medical services in the past, facilitated by scientific advancements on healthcare, such adverse illnesses related to cardiovascular and respiratory systems as high blood pressure, stroke or tuberculosis, currently, have been partially tackled with appropriate treatment. This consequently contributes to the physical wealth of old residents. Moreover, the escalating number in nursing homes is further attributed to the better life for people who are getting old since they can communicate with other elderly people and receive meticulous care from professionals.

In conclusion, although the pace of life may worsen their quality of life, I firmly believe that the aged can benefit from the modern era, fueled by the better health system.