Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays is much better than it was in the past. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are those who believe that the contemporary world is absolutely rough for the elderly, whilst others say that conditions of life for old people improved significantly in modern society. While there are a lot of new developments in modern life, using which are very challenging for old generation, this essay would argue that nowadays the elderly has better terms of life than in the past.

On the one hand, digitalization and technological advancement, such as the Internet, new models of laptops, mobile phones, require from old people obtaining skills in using them. The majority of social services, including medical care, carries out by means of different apps. For example, in order to make appointment with doctor, it is required to submit an application on the website of the hospital, it can be very difficult for aged person. However, I believe that in spite of necessity to master using new technologies, modern developments help the elderly to live more comfortable and even substantially increase life expectancy.

On the other hand, there are a lot of achievements of science in medical care. Hospitals are well endowed with modern medical equipment, pharmaceutical sphere innovated with progressive medicines, which have less side effects. As a result of all these breakthroughs in the medicine, life expectancy of the elderly rose significantly, a lot of symptoms are alleviated through treatment. The government of different countries provide training programs for seniors for teaching them to use computers and the Internet, that can help to communicate more and to save ability to learn. For this reason, I am of the opinion that old people have opportunities to live much better than in the past.

In conclusion, contemporary life can be exhausting for the elderly, because of digital development, bur I strongly believe that there are a lot of advantages in the modern world, which make conditions for seniors more comfortable.