Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays is much better than it was in the past. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While it is true that nowadays being old has its own downsides, the medicine that we have in the modern world can prevent some problems that come along with old age. It seems to me that although being elderly has many drawbacks, the quality of life of an old person is better than it was in the past.

On the one hand, elderly people have to face many health problems, and their physical and cognitive ability decrease a lot as they are getting older. They can’t walk or remember complex events as they could in their adulthood. However, they are considered as wise persons, because of the experience they have in life which can be valuable for the younger generation. Moreover, with the low income that comes from the government, they can’t enjoy the beauty of life as they could in their youth.

On the other hand, the quality of life for old people is better compared to the past, because nowadays we have great medical features and public transport, which can be crucial for long distance trips. In addition, many diseases can be prevented or cured because of the medical technology that we have today. As a consequence their lives are extended. Furthermore, in many countries, old people receive monthly pensions, which can help them in buying their necessities or other things.

In conclusion, although old people have many health problems that they need to face, I believe that nowadays their lives are improved and they can enjoy their life more than in the past, this is because of the advancement in technological and medical field.