Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays is much better than it was in the past. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, several people believe that aging only brings negative impacts on one’s life. By contrast, others think that the lives of the elderly are currently improved greatly compared to the past. In the following essay, I will discuss these two statements.

On the one hand, there are undoubtedly pessimist aspects of getting old in the modern world. To begin, aging is usually accompanied by diseases and degrading in general health, which lead to the loss of income abilities. This phenomenon can be destructive to people who don’t have savings or children to take care of them, since they cannot afford not only daily necessaries but also medicine fees. Furthermore, as youngsters tend to move to metropolis for their occupations, the elders may feel lonely and depressed. Worst still, with modern devices, such as smartphones, not many old citizen want to go out and communicate with others. Consequently, mental health can face such a challenge.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that life quality has been improved tremendously compared to the past. For example, the medical enhancements are now able to address what used to be fatal-death pandemics and lengthen the life expectancy. Moreover, social media is developing so quickly that the seniors can make friends and conversations online and somehow relieve loneliness. In addition, with the fast development of artificial intelligence, we can expect the coming out of taking-care robots in the near future facilitating the olds in everyday life.

In conclusion, modern life brings us myriad benefits and drawbacks. In my opinion, one’s life quality are founded mainly on emotional sides. Therefore, the advantages of the innovations currently cannot outweigh the disadvantages albeit the huge benefits since they have a potential risk of making mental life poorer by making people more separate and unconnected.