Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays is much better than it was in the past. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With the dawn of the day, we are getting older which of inevitable. Generally, people above the age of 60 are referred as old because of decrease in cognitive abilities and physical strength. Modern technology plays a crucial role in their life although it has some disadvantages too.

As people get old, they lost their abilities to the think, read, walking, or standing for long time. Due to reduction in bone mass, they face difficulties in walking and doing routine chores. Modern technology has come handy in these situations as electric wheel-chairs are available now which were not generally seen in past. Due to advanced technology, surgical methods can replace bones or knees which help old people to regain ability to walk. Most of the household chores can be done by tapping just one button, in contrast all household activities were done by hand in past time-consuming much energy. Artificial intelligence and robots are used to serve old people, all they have to do is command them. So, basically there are significant advantages, which leads to the result that old people in modern are having a better life. But as each coin has two sides, there are some negative points also which signifies that old people in past were happier. Everybody is busy with himself that even children have no time for their parents. Most of them started living away. This became the reason for mental illnesses in old aged people. On contrary, in past families used to live together, the food was disease free which leads to fewer illnesses as compared to present time.

Certainly, modern world has benefited senior citizens but there are some lacks. Overall the life of old aged people have changed due to increase in lifestyle comfort compared to past. So I strongly stand with the statement that in modern world senior citizens are having better life.