Some people say that individuals who make a lot of money are most successful. Others think that those who contribute to society like scientists and teachers are most successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Which is more significant while deciding how successful a person is in the society- financial status or contribution towards surroundings? In my opinion, an individual who works for the betterment of the society could be concluded as prosperous, irrespective of the profession.

On the one hand, people with higher monetary capacity are perceived as flourishing. This is because money brings with itself status and dignity because of raised living standards. It is widely noticed that society holds those people with utmost respect who have a better financial ability as opposed to one with low-income. As a consequence, the sense of honor gained works as a parameter for success.

On the other hand, certain jobs, including teachers, doctors and scientists, are considered to be more succeeding. In other words, medical staff plays a crucial role in determining the life and death of a person, scientists work towards novel discoveries to improve people’s life, and teachers set a foundation for all other jobs as well as add considerable value to student’s life. In this way, these professions usually attract heightened respect and hence, are thought to be more fulfilling.

In my opinion, one who acts towards uplifting each other can be considered as successful without any regard to job profile. Sometimes, it is being noticed that even professors or doctors prioritize their personal objectives over collective goals, which leads to lessened contribution towards society. Contrary to this, many business people, including layman, can be seen more active towards addressing societal issues. A good example of this would be of Rattan Tata who donates a large proportion of their earnings for needy population.

In conclusion, money and success are correlated is the belief of some people, whilst others put specific jobs, which work for the development of society, at a high priority. I entirely agree with the latter view but regardless of the profession that one is involved into.