Some people say that it's better to teach language students in small classes, whereas others think the number of people does not matter. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

People have differing views regarding the importance of the number of students in a language class. While there are certain reasons that make small groups more favorable for language learners, studying in a large group also offers certain advantages. In my opinion, it primarily depends on a learner’s ability to adapt to a new setting, so the size of the class is not always the priority for some people.

On the one hand, language lessons conducted in small classes are usually favored for the opportunity to have frequent face-to-face interactions with a teacher. Not always do students, particularly beginners, have the ability to understand lessons at once, meaning they may need extra explanations during or after the class. So, approaching the teacher may be simpler in a small class than in a large one. Another reason that makes studying with fewer people more appealing is often associated with the better quality of teaching. The teacher may have sufficient time to work with each student individually and deliver a greater amount of information within a short period, saving students more time for other important tasks. This may eventually lead to better productivity, thereby increasing the chances of faster progress. Finally, less noisy environment with fewer interruptions can be guaranteed in a small class.

However, the advocates of larger groups cite several benefits including teamwork, healthy competition, and the chance for newcomers to learn from higher-level students. Learning a language with many people in a group is believed to foster collaboration through which students get to cooperate with one another and thus develop their communication skills. Moreover, students can be divided into several sub-groups during discussions and debate activities that are specifically designed for improving general speaking skills. This may help them work in a team and compete with other teams, which is beneficial to offer a sense of competition. When there is a competitive environment, the participants have to brainstorm and do their best to help their team win. The final point worth considering is the possibility for starters to approach advanced students with questions when the teacher is not available.

To conclude, whether a student is a part of a small class or a large one, I am of the opinion that students have the right to choose the one that suits them best. Considering all the benefits of each group type and a person’s individuals needs, I cannot say one is better than the other.