Some people say that studying at school is not essential because most important things are learned outside the school. Do you agree or disagree?

It is alleged that things learned outside the school are of high value, while studying at school is not essential. I partially disagree with this approach. I believe that whereas things learned out of school are of importance, studying at school is essential too.

On the one hand, dropping out of school provides individuals with an opportunity to pursue their interests and passions, resulting in personal development, and ultimately success and a sense of satisfaction. They can learn abilities that they are talented in and reach their full potential. Consider Cristiano Ronaldo as an axiomatic example; he decided to pursue his profession in football instead of going to school, and now, he is one of the most successful football player in the world. Moreover, in this way, individuals can learn practical skills which are less common at schools. Indeed, schools’ focuses are primarily on academics matters, such as math and literature, while outside of them people can learn practical skills, such as cooking, painting, and sewing.

Having said that, studying at school benefits individuals in various ways. To begin with, it can enhance pupils communication skills. In other words, interaction with peers, and exposure to diverse ideas and perspectives can pave the way for individuals to learn how to communicate with different people and increase their social network. In addition, these days, schools offer a wide range of facilities for students, such as library, laboratory, swimming pool, and gym, providing a more convenient environment for students to acquire a deeper understanding of subjects. For instance, laboratories at schools allow students to do chemical experiments, helping them with a better understanding of their lessons.

To sum up, I am convinced that while outside of schools offer opportunities, such as pursuing personal interests and acquiring practical skills, studying at schools can also pave the way for boosting communication abilities and accessing to different facilities.