Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some believe that learning a second language in merely required for those who want to travel to or work in another country; however, others think that there is more reasons for learning a new language other than just work or travel. In my opinion, learning other languages can prove beneficial for various purposes, such as some positions in marketing, which are only suitable for bilinguals or maybe because new languages can train the learners’ brains.

The idea that languages are only used for communication is outdated, although it is true that the majority of people have learned a foreign language in order to work or study in a foreign country. For example, a great deal of nurses in Iran have started learning German only because they are planning to work in Germany.

Additionally, there are numerous other reasons why one should begin with learning other languages. Each language is differently processed by the brain; this means learning a new one can train other parts of the learners’ brains. Some languages, such as Chinese, engage the frontal lobe of the brain, in which the visual data is processed; however, others like English are processed in the temporal lobe, which is responsible for speech and hearing.

It is also noteworthy that in some areas of work, such as marketing or tourism or sometimes simply teaching, people who speak different languages are in demand, even though they live in their home country. This can be another good reason for learning foreign languages.

In conclusion, learning a second language is not only beneficial it is sometimes required for people, who live in today’s society. Every day more and more people start language courses not only to communicate with others, but also to train their thinking.