Some people say that there is much harmful content on the internet. They say the the only way to make internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the Internet. The technological advances have enlightened people to create websites and can post anything they wish. This is because of their rights to freedom of expression.

The technological advances have enlightened people to create websites and can post anything they wish. This is because of their rights to freedom of expression.

Firstly, Internet is used for education purposes, entertainment and a commucation tool. For example, education can be provided through documentaries scholary articles and apps such as khan Academy and geogebra. However, it can contain malcontent. Therefore the government should control information if some websites.

Furthermore, internet can contain cyber-bullying and security threats for a country. To explain, cyber – bullying involves victimization of individuals on social media platforms. As a result, one may attempt suicide and develop stress. In general it may lead to loss of life. Therefore, such content should censored. Additionally, phonography has become a central problem in various countries. Circulation of information involving this, is harmful to vulnerable people such as children. Consequently, early pregnancy, rape and spread of sexual infections may also affect the population. Moreso, it affects allocation of resources. Thus instead of spending money on development government will have more to look after dependants. There is need for the government to control information on websites.

Lastly, internet can promote security threats. To exemplify these might be acts of terrorism, gangesterism or an attack from another country. These result in tribalistic wars, political and social unrest. Generally, it may contribute to high death rates. To minimize the loss of life the government should control the internet.

To conclude, internet do not contain harmful content only. In turn, if censorship is too much it invades people’s rights to communication. Thus, government need to control information from the internet to a less extent.