Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to. How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environment

Currently, most people see that tourism industry customers are highly growing and it is earning lots of money for the Government and local people. However, the tourists also make more adverse impacts on the countries that they go to. Personally, I completely agree with this statement.

It is true that tourism has had a negative effect on the environment and local communities. I see that tourists who have narrow knowledge will cause more pollution in the location that they travel to. Many people have the habit of throwing trash on the side of the road when visiting tourist areas. Because of the few trash bins, they can’t find a trash can nearby and are too lazy to look for it. This led to a situation where tourists put out trash around tourist areas. For example, If you go to Vung Tau beach, you will witness that along the beach there is a lot of litter like bottles, plastic bags and papers.

However, there’s also solutions to avoid the detrimental effects of visitors on local culture and environment. Firstly, Tourist areas must issue regulations prohibiting littering around the premises. And there should be fines for visitors who break the rules. Secondly, tourism companies and localities should combine to organize propaganda activities about the harmful effects of plastic waste. For example, every month, travel companies will organize trash cleanups around the area.

In conclusion, nowadays, the tourism industry develops quickly; so people have to learn how to protect the environment and enhance local culture.