Some people say that your first impressions when you meet someone are always right. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Many people state that your first perception when you meet someone are usually correct. I don’t quite agree with this view, and in this essay, I will provide some arguments to support my point of view.

To begin with, first impressions may reveal some information about a person, but not the genuine characteristics of an individual. Firstly, because we can judge someone in the way they speak, dress, start a conversation and express their views, but again, it is just a perception. For example, from my experience, person who initially make friends quickly is not a good option for a serious, long-term friendship, even if they showed the opposite in the first meet. In addition, from my point of view, people often show modesty and helpfulness on their first encounter, even if they are not truly compassionate and helpful enough.

Moreover, only long-term observations can reveal the true nature and intention of a person. We can truly understand what the individual is about only by interacting and communicating with them for a long time. So, I would not agree that my first impressions are always right. I believe that we can learn about a person only by interacting and observing, because their true nature always revealing over time.

In conclusion, the human beings are not a task in math, which we can calculate as two plus two is four. The true nature and intention of an individual uncovering during the long time, of course first encounters may reveal some data about the person, but usually these are not sincere characteristics, at least form my experience.