Some people say TV programs should aim at educating people. Others believe that TV should be a platform for commercial purposes

Should television primarily seek to educate or should its primary role be commercial development?

In recent year, people need to use modern gadgets such as TV programs in their daily routine because they are accustomed to watch the latest news on the TV programs. Furthermore, proponents of educational activities argue that it can be a powerful tool for transferring knowledge, developing culture and broadening horizons. Thus it expended to such a scale that literally everyone began to post videos in the YouTube platform containing language learning, learning environment, sharing tips that will help us in certain situation. For instance, programs about nature, history, or science can ignite the viewer’s interest, show him the world in new colors, expand his understanding of the world around him.

On the other hand, commerce is a type of business. TV channels need funding, which they receive through advertising and the sale of airtime. Commercial success is often determined by ratings that reflect the preference of mass audience. In this case, TV channels may prefer entertainment programs that attract a large number of viewers but are not always of high intellectual level.

In my opinion, both programs are important in their respective fields. They can be combined when they both provide the same topic. For example, you can take a video with a context about studies and include a short-term advertisement also related to studies, thus increasing the audience of both of them.

In conclusion, TV programs always have different topics. It is impossible to choose and say that one of them is more important and necessary. Each one is needed in its own field.