Some people say we do not need printed newspapers anymore. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

As a result of the proliferation of media coverage, the widespread use of e-paper has become a topic of interest. In light of this, traditional newspapers are believed to be no longer necessary. However, this essay will argue that relying solely on internet-based news can be a negative development.

On the one hand, the benefits of digital versions of newspapers are irrefutable. One of the most significant is the convenience. Thanks to the rise of social media, people are able to get access to up-to-date news rapidly from the comfort of their homes. Instead of purchasing papers from newsstands, people just update news via internet-connected devices immediately. Furthermore, with social media platforms, news would be published with more graphics such as images or videos which lead to a more attractive way to convey information. For example, major publishers, such as CNN or BBC, shifted from printed materials to multimedia presentation to make complex information become more understandable, successfully enhancing young readers.

On the other hand, I contend that it is imprudent to downplay the advantages of printed papers. Firstly, conventional news which is updated by official publishers is reliable by their credibility of information. Specifically, some kind of digital articles are responsible by a wide range of amateur press agencies, leading to the skepticism of uncensored information. In addition, the presence of paper-based communication contributes to an universal accessibility, making it an indispensable channel to bridge digital divide. For example, the elderly who may lack knowledge of technology, have a chance to easily access news without barriers.

In conclusion, despite being estimated to replace newspapers in the future, online news is still accompanied by some drawbacks while there is no denying the reliability and popularity of papers printed by major publishers. Therefore, a balanced approach is the most effective way to access information which is investigated and analysed.