Some people think advertisements may have positive effects. Others think it has negative social effects. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

In today’s society, no matter where you are, advertisements exist nearly everywhere, such as the wall of buildings, the email and the TV show. People are hard to ignore these. Therefore, some claim that the exist of advertisements benefits our daily life a lot. However, others oppose it. They stand that we could not overlook the negative impacts. The following essay will take a look at both sides of the above argument. I firmly agree with the former opinion.

To begin with, advertisements do bring convenience to shoppers to make purchasing decisions. Through gaining much more information related to a brand’s name, price as well as functions, consumers do not need to compare the products and services as before. Beside practical benefits, advertisements help to reduce the boredom in people’s daily life. In order to attract shoppers, manufacturers are more likely to create advertisements full of vivid pictures and videos, making the viewing experience enjoyable when appreciating such advertisements. Thirdly, advertisements bring economic profits to enterprises. It is an effective strategy for any firms to promote products and expand potential market share. Finally, advertisements can spread correct social value and output local culture. Advertisements have already integrated in our life. Regardless of your age, everyone will receive correct values from them so as to know what behaviour is right, which have educational meaning.

However, because of the ubiquity of advertisements, there are some people who worry about the negative impacts on people. Firstly, advertisements may disturb people’s work, study and life. No matter where you live, advertisements exist everywhere. Nearly all citizens, regardless of age and gender, are disturbed by such advertisements. Furthermore, advertisements could mislead consumers. In order to boost the volume of sales, many advertisers tend to exaggerate the functions of products and services, causing consumers to make some insensible and irrational decisions. Last but not least, advertisers may ignore the quality of goods. When manufacturers, especially those young one, realize that the rise of sales could be achieving through advertising, they are more likely to invest much more in promotional strategy, but downplay the importance of bettering the qualify of their products.

In a nut,there do exist merits and demerits of advertisements. But from the perspective of daily life, advertisements bring many benefits for citizens.