Some people think higher education is beneficial while others hold a different view. Describe the benefits and drawbacks of higher education.

Numerous individuals believe that higher education is beneficial. While the benefits of this trend are noteworthy, including the specific knowledge and wide range of job prospects, the disadvantages of it cannot be ignored. In this essay, I will explore both sides and support my own standpoints.

On one hand, higher education offers certain benefits. Firstly, a university degree, obtained through higher institutions, can open the door to better employment opportunities such as jobs in medicine, engineering, information technologies and business. For instance, someone with a diploma is not limited to work as a factory employee when he has access to work in a company. Furthermore, economies are becoming increasingly knowledge-based as AI and new technologies are developing.Consequently, specific knowledge and skills, for example, knowing the instructions for using modern technologies or AI tools are required in most vocations.

On the other hand, a degree is not necessary for many service professions, which can also play a crucial role in our daily lives. The reason for this may be the importance of practical training in comparison with academic knowledge. For instance, currently, the UK has a shortage of plumbers as residents prefer academic careers, in contrast to service employments. As a consequence, plumbers’ services are becoming more and more expensive. Undoubtedly, practical training is more essential in many cases.

To conclude, while proponents of higher education highlight potential benefits, including various job opportunities in medical fields or business and specific knowledge gained through it, there are significant disadvantages to consider. There are many types of jobs which do not demand university degree, although, play a vital role in our living tendencies such as plumbers.