Some people think hosting major sporting events brings benefits for the country. Other people think that it only brings disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today, the number of people engaging in sport activities are increasing rapidly. Thus, many countries are interested in holding big sporting competitions, aiming to profit through them, becoming a hot topic among people. I believe that it has many pros to a country, but we shouldn’t forget about cons it brings, too.

Special sport events attract a huge number of fans. There are billions of people who enjoy watching their favorite type of sport matches and don’t hesitate to spend money if necessary. Renowned sport events like World Cup and Olympics are awaited by many, and countries in charge of hosting these competitions receive a large number of visitors, which helps them improve economically. For instance, in recent Football World Cup hosted by Qatar, they made more than $20 billion, which tourists spent on tickets, hotels, restaurants, and other necessities, that opened up a new path for advancement.

The more people come to a country, the more crowded it becomes, disturbing the lives of locals. With the increase in population, the use of vehicles is bound to grow as well, causing more traffic jams. Also, the noise pollution generated by them can create an irritable atmosphere, making it annoying for both inhabitants and visitors. In the Olympics hosted by France, as there were an unexpected amount of visitors, this country faced many challenges and received many negative comments, while having difficulty tackling with these problems.

In conclusion, hosting events of a big scale requires responsibility as it can help a country advance further or become a problem that brings its downfall. In my point of view, whether it’s used for development or otherwise depends on how countries use this chance.