Some people think hosting major sporting events brings benefits for the country. Other people think that it only brings disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In contemporary society, the phenomenon of investing in national sporting affairs has engendered long-standing controversy, rendering both merits and demerits. While some postulate that holding sporting events only produces diminishing returns, others vehemently argue that this tendency can yield a handsome profit for their country. This essay will explore both perspectives before presenting a reasoned opinion.

On one side of the debate, advocates for the idea of organizing sporting events posit that this trend could cultivate fraternity between their nation and neighboring countries. Their main objectives do not revolve around profit-making but to unite and strengthen the sportsmanship among participants. This, in turn, garners an enviable reputation for its country and is an effective advertising tool for its national tourism. Japan, host of the 2020 Summer Olympics, corroborates a firm testimony to the truth. Fundraisers and economists often highlight the importance of sponsoring sports-related events given its beneficial influence.

Conversely, skeptics unequivocally endorse the fact that their country must undergo dire financial straits inflicted by the exorbitant fees of hosting a sporting event. They often fulminate against the disadvantages of people gravitating to one place, be it the terrible noise, piles of litter strewn all along the street, or suffocating atmosphere. Sometimes, indigenous people incur the anger of out-of-nowhere strangers by dint of their misunderstanding actions or cultural or religious differences. Indonesian national football field, for example, was once bombarded by rival fans.

In forming an opinion on this matter, it is essential to consider the delicate balance between loss and gain. While sporting events manifest immense benefits in ever-increasing revenues of sports-related fields, side effects are inevitable. Stringent rules should be brought in to minimize unwanted incidents. It is, however, crucial for tourists themselves to adopt proper manners, especially towards foreigners.

In conclusion, the debate over whether or not to host a sporting event in one country event is nuanced. It is my firm belief that radically addressing omnipresent problems circulating this tendency is the key to its success.