Some people think it is better for one single legal system throughout the world. Others say countries should have their own law. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been a prevailing debate about the legal system around the world. One school of thought holds that there should be a universal law system while the others contend that it is more justifiable for each nation to have its own laws. This essay will discuss both perspectives before explaining why I opine that separate legal systems for different countries are more appropriate.

On the one hand, there are clear justifications why some individuals believe that every country around the world should apply one single legal system. One of the notable reasons is the development of the economy and globalization. As the economic laws among different nations are similar, doing business becomes easier due to the simplification and time decrease in the documentary process. For instance, when an American company cooperates with a Vietnamese organization, both firms will not be concerned that there can be some different contents or rules from other regional beliefs; as a result, the process of signing the contract is accelerated and the risk of economic disputes is limited. Furthermore, one standard law system can alleviate or prevent transnational crime, as offenders cannot take advantage of the legal loophole among countries’s laws to escape from their punishment, thereby catching crimes, such as human trafficking and cybercrime, become possible even if the offenders move to another nation.

On the other hand, despite some merits the universal legal system offers, I still maintain the belief that having its own law for each country is a more valid approach regarding culture and freedom of a country. Culture and tradition are regarded as a key factor, which needs to be considered when enforcing laws in any nation. Countries with different history or culture cannot use the same legal system as it can trigger social instability. An action can be accepted in this region but is condemned in another area. Same-sex marriage, for example, is allowed in some nations in Europe like America and Canada; however, it is still not acceptable in some countries, including Vietnam, because of religious and cultural beliefs. Moreover, creating an independent legal system can be seen as a way to ensure national sovereignty, which helps the government flexibly alter laws to protect the benefits of citizens of a nation in different periods.

In conclusion, while applying one single law system can boost the growth of the economy and prevent transnational crime due to the law’s consistency, I contend that independent legal systems among countries provide more substantial upsides. Laws created should be suitable to the culture of each nation. It is the better option to reflect the freedom of a country, which allows the change in laws to suit the country’s background in a particular time.