Some people think it is better for one single legal system throughout the world. Others say countries should have their own law. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are some thoughts that having a single legal system to apply to the whole world is beneficial. From my perspective, because of the uniqueness in every country’s tradition and customs, using only one system may not be a wise idea.

First and foremost, the reason why a single system cannot be used around the world is attributed to the fact that countries have their own differences. The diversity of each nation’s customs, traditions, and ways of living creates hundreds of distinct needs. This is reflected in people’s habits of living, requiring the flexibility that one set of laws cannot satisfy. For example, for countries that put more emphasis on traditional values, the government might want to spend more on preserving historical heritage, yet not all countries are willing to spend such an amount on these assets. This leads to the effort of trying to reconcile every culture being counterproductive.

With such problems, having separate legal systems is a more effective approach to regulate a country. If every government has the freedom of lawmaking, they can customize and make changes based on the context in the country, ensuring that it meets people’s demands and avoids possible taboos. To exemplify, when there is a recession, a nation can tailor its rules to create favourable conditions for businesses and individuals, boosting its economic stability.

To conclude, while the idea of a single law system may seem fair and efficient, it would be difficult to implement globally. I strongly suggest that every country should keep their own regulations to align with their own social and cultural needs.