Some people think it is better for one single legal system throughout the world. Others say countries should have their own law. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is ongoing debate weather the world should have a single legal system or weather each country should maintain its own laws. I believe that national legal systems are more appropriate.

Examining the former opinion, the primary argument the supporters would put forwards believe that it controls international crime easily. This means that countries could solve crime issues, such as terrorism or cybercrime, if they work in collaboration. For instance, criminals could not escape from punishment by moving to other countries. Additionally, they also believe that it would be better, once there is one law for everyone. The reason is that it provides justice, since individuals obey one law, no matter where they are.

On the contrary, those in favour of the latter opinion have their own arguments. To begin with, they claim that it provides respect for culture and traditions. This can be explained by the fact that laws should be suitable for nations, since every culture has its diverse traditions. For example, family matters play an instrumental role in some culture. Moreover, laws fit local needs. In other words, every country legislates according to their social and economic status. This can be seen in laws related to business or taxes which can differ in developed countries. Eventually, they could make faster and flexible decisions. This is because, every country can change law according to their needs. For example, they can easily take an action in emergency, such as disasters or pandemic.

To conclude and offer my position, there are convincing arguments for implementing a single legal system or having won law. However, I certainly favour the latter opinion.