Some people think students should be free to choose what to study, while others think the curriculum should be strictly followed. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

See, it is a very Hot Topic in market. Seriously, this entire argument of whether or not students should choose their own subjects or just do a set list – it is complicated. Some believe students perform better when they are studying something they actually enjoy. And sure, that sounds good. Like, if someone is interested in music or technology, why make them study something they don’t care about?

When kids are interested in something, they’re just more into it. They pay attention more, they care more, and sometimes they even learn it better faster. It feels more natural. And picking your subjects sort of gives you a little bit of independence, which is good in the long run.

On the other hand, I understand the logic in the argument in favor of sticking to a uniform curriculum. There are certain areas of basic knowledge that everyone must learn. Basic math, writing, and history are not necessarily subjects that are always exciting, but they are critical. If one were allowed to pick and choose only for enjoyment, one might miss out on these basics.

My own view is very middle of the road. It is necessary that students are taught the proper core knowledge of course, but they must then be permitted to choose a couple of subjects that really interest them. It maintains learning relevant as well as interesting.

Lastly, there must be balance. Too much liberty could lead to anarchy. Too many rules could lead to boredom.