Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed that a large amount of time and money should be invested in human population issues as opposed to being used using them for wild animals related problems. While illegal hunting of and poaching wild animals is are becoming controversial , I am of the opinion that population difficulty is more acute due to the scarcity of food and the overloading social welfare stemming from overpopulation.

To commence with, the hunting of wild animals in recent years adversely affects ecosystem balance. With the purpose of financial benefits, a large number of individuals engage in poaching of wildlife and, illicit transnational trafficking, causing numerous animals to be on the verge of extinction. For example, elephants play an integral role in opening spaces for different plant types new plant growth and grassland to thrive as their big size often can clear areas of dense vegetation through their foraging and browsing activities. However, the number of elephants in Vietnam in recent years has dramatically decreased due to the illegal ivory trade by hunters. As a result, the composition of plant species is heavily influenced, impacting the habitat for other wildlife.

Despite the above idea benefits on the environment, I believe that the human population should be taken into consideration because of several problems related to overcrowding. The first one is food shortage. The fact that more forests are being cut down to make room for huge demands for human dwellings and recreational facilities have shortened the land for agriculture. Secondly, the booming overpopulation will put pressure on social welfare. More people means the competition in the labor market is more intense and difficult in relation to higher and complex criteria in each occupation, causing more people to become unemployed. This, in turn, increases the need for social assistance programs, including job placement services, job training initiatives, or unemployment benefits.

In conclusion, although wild animal trafficking is an urgent problem that disturbs the balance of the ecosystem, I believe an investment of money and time in mitigating overpopulation-related issues, including the lack of food and social welfare pressure should be given a priority. In my opinion, governments and individuals should seriously pay attention and have awareness in solving the human population in the future