Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is asserted that a large amount of effort and money should be invested in wildlife conservation, while many argue that these loads of money could be utilized to facilitate human development. From my perspective, although I partially agree that time and money could be better spent on wildlife protection, there are many facets of human society that need to be considered.

The foremost rationale for my approval of animal preservation is their contributions to maintain a balanced biodiversity. If one animal species becomes completely extinct, other species may suffer from a lack of food as these prey may be their sole food source and then consequently become extinct themselves, massively disrupting the natural food chain. Hence, investing in wildlife protection could curb the loss of nature-based food sources, reducing the possibility of food deficiency among animals. Another compelling reason why I maintain that assertion is that wildlife animals can be valuable resources to search for alternative treatments. This can be explained that animals’ unique traits and characteristics can do wonders for producing animal products with the view of resisting diseases, and therefore, can hold the key to medical breakthroughs.

However, I believe that investing in fulfilling the requirements of the human population could be of great significance. There are various urgent issues pertaining to human society that need to be addressed such as poverty or healthcare. If money is not available for individuals who live in dire poverty or those facing health risks. It is indisputable that these pressing problems require a huge amount of time and funding to set about, and thus, should be prioritized instead. Moreover, spending more on education will greatly benefit humans. Specifically, better education can foster a well-rounded development and elevate the standards of living of the community.

In conclusion, while I understand that an investment in preserving animals may somehow maintain the balance of the ecosystem and benefit the medical sector as well. Nevertheless, our time and money should justifiably be allocated to other aspects of humanity such as education or medical care to improve the quality of life.