Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think that it is a waste of time.

There are differing views on whether art is essential subject for school children or it should be avoided. Although there might be more important subjects rather than art, in my opinion, art plays a crucial role in students’ lives as it fosters their imagination.

Subjects such as science, math, and literature might bring more benefits into students’ lives. These subjects teach more practical lessons that might help children later in life. While finishing school, having knowledge in such subjects may benefit children, as exams are often structured from these important subjects. Due to this, they can pass exams successfully without facing any difficulties. In other cases, during applying to a job, employers require expertise in certain fields. For example, some employers require the skills of writing clearly and without mistakes. As a result, a school curriculum builds essential abilities from an early age.

However, art lessons encourage imagination. When children create something from their own imagination, it may motivate them to do more. In other words, the sense of realizing their ideas into a reality may impact their self-esteem positively. At school, teachers can organise competitions among classes with special rewards. In this way, children are more likely to promote imagination which may contribute to building positive attitudes in life. Through competing, they try to perform better than others and implement compelling details in their works. Therefore, art subjects may increase children’s creativity.

In conclusion, while there might be subjects of more importance in children’s lives, I believe that an opportunity to create may be more valuable, as through art children may think more in a positive way.