Some people think that children should only read academic books. Others believe that reading books for pleasure is equally important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Reading is a substantial skill that children must acquire in their early years. It is argued by many that children ought to be exposed solely to academic readings. Others, however, believe that reading different kinds of genres is just as important. Although reading intellectual books is a significant step, I do not agree that it is the only type that children must be reading.

Reading academic writings is proven to be of a magnificent benefit for children critical development. This is because being exposed to complex subjects ,that academic books offer, at an early age makes kids’ brain more open to critical thinking and sophisticated point of views, therefore ready to discuss and criticise intellectually a wide rage of difficult concepts, whether be literature, science, poetry, etc. Children who read solely academic books are also able to produce high value information by themselves thanks to the continuous exposure to quality books and authors. Although it may seem fair to say that reading academic books purely is better, I do not believe that it is the optimal way for their mental development.

On the other hand, reading other genres for fun is argued to be as significant as reading academic books. Children ,who enjoy ready as an activity, tend to be more creative when reading different type of genres, since they make use of their imagination which results in strengthening their mental health and stability. For instance, if a kid reads fantasy stories and Sci-fi books, they’ll be less vulnerable to mental illnesses as depression or anxiety. In addition, reading for pleasure aids them to improve their artsy skills and social skills including emotional intelligence. As a results, they become skilled more not only with kids their ages, but also with adults in their surroundings. Children have to be exposed to a verity of books and not strictly to academic books in order to fully develop their health and growth.