Some people think that children should only read academic books. Others believe that reading books for pleasure is equally important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In recent years, reading has attracted considerable attention among educators. While some assert that students should focus on reading academic content, others argue that the entertaining books are also beneficial for students’ development. I firmly believe that maintaining a balanced between both academic and entertainment books is essential for students’ academic success and personal growth.

On the one hand, academic books are fundamental for children’s educational success. In other words, educational materials are essential for developing students in many sides such as reading comprehension, critical thinking and acquiring knowledge that is necessary for success at school. Moreover, these materials help students to concentrate on their learning process and prepare them well for the exam. A prominent example is students want to take IELTS test, who rely on academic resources to prepare and practice the essential skills for the test. As a result many educators encourage prioritizing academic book because of its positive impact on students achievement and performance.

On the other hand, reading for entertainment plays an equally significant role in students’ overall progress. When students read diverse topics such as novels, fiction books, poetry, and stories, that would probably enhance their imagination, creativity and reduce the stress of academic materials. For instance, those students who read books like Harry Potter or diary of wimpy kid can develop their ideas, acquire numerous vocabulary, improve their thinking and emotional skills. Hence, it can be claimed that entertainment reading help students to relax, acquire knowledge in a natural way and develop their interpersonal skills.

In conclusion, although academic books are crucial for understanding and gaining knowledge, entertainment book plays a supporting role in improving children’s personal skills and language acquisition. Therefore, I firmly believe that parents and educators should make a healthy balance between the two types of reading to ensure both academic success and improve emotional wellbeing.