Some people think that children should only read academic books. Others believe that reading books for pleasure is equally important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Many individuals believe that juveniles have to read only academic literature, while others argue that reading books for pleasure is also significant. Although there is an opinion that children should read only academic books, I firmly believe that children have to read entertaining literature as much as they read academic books.

On the one hand, by reading academic books, young people can acquire knowledge and improve their thinking skills. Literature that contains a lot of scientific information is crucial because it can develop a child’s analytical and critical thinking skills. Specifically, academic books are composed of distinct scientific terms and hard explanations, so reading these books requires more deep and complex thinking. For example, students who have read a lot of scientific literature in their childhood are more likely to be accepted into Harvard than students who have not.

On the other hand, reading books for enjoyment is a good way for relaxation, and it develops youngsters’ imagination skills. Reading books for leisure has always been a way to relax as it lets the reader dive into the atmosphere of the book and forget about everything. Children frequently feel stressed, and this activity helps them to handle stress. Additionally, books that are read for entertainment are mostly fiction. By reading fiction, young people strengthen their imagination skills because they need to imagine events that are happening in the book.

In conclusion, while some people claim that youngsters should read only academic books , I assert that reading books for leisure is equally essential as it provides relaxation and better imagination skills.