Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children’s story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extent do you agree?

Utilisation of leisure time by engaging in productive activities is an imminent part of life. On this basis,a sector of society opined that juveniles who spares ample amount of time for reading tales is an unproductive task rather they should use the same time by indulging themselves in various other fruitful activities, I partially agree with the statement on the grounds that reading story books for long, not only have merits, but also certain drawbacks. The justifications for it are streamlined in the upcoming paragraphs.

To initiate with, there are myriads of advantages of reading story books to children. The first and foremost positive of it is , it helps children in enhancing their cognitive skills, which is indeed a necessary thing in everyone’s life. To elaborate it, children might come across various ideas from the story along with the morals which they can implement in their daily lives by the time they grow up. Thus, reading story books is proved to be beneficial for children since it facilitates them to view things from different perspective that shows development in their thinking skills for generating ideas.

Furthermore, another reason why it is significant for children to read stories is that though it not helps children to build intellectual skill as the calibre differ from child to child, it may help them to learn distinct vocabularies along with the pronunciation of words, which is a basic requirement criteria for reading. Apart from that, it is wise to practise reading story books for children instead of enrolling with the mobile phones in this technological era so if they get habitualised of reading stories today, they might end up reading news in the future, which is undoubtedly a proactive task.

Paradoxically, there are some people who claims that children who dedicates most of their time in reading story books is a complete squandering of time on the grounds that it might make children monotonous in their life who masters only one field but lack knowledge in other areas. To explain it, they conquer that the same time could be dedicated to other energising activities such as swimming, football as well as gymnastics so that they can challenge themselves to be not only knowledgeable, but also building a robust physique. Henceforth, acquiring perception in different fields is equally important.

Agglomerating all the points elaborated above, it can be concluded that though there are effective advantages of reading story books to children, their development in other areas should not be overlooked as it is said that multitalented person rules over million hearts.