Some people think that computer games are bad for children, while others believe that they are beneficial. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a view that computer games do more harm than good in all parts of life and should be banned from an early age. I completely disagree with the given suggestion, as they develop physical skills, reaction, accuracy, linguistic ability and reduce psychological problems.

One advantage of playing computer games is the development of physical abilities. For example, a recent article that I read stated that children who play interactive games such as WII have been shown to enhance their motor skills, which is kicking, catching and throwing the ball far better than the ones who did not play such games. They are also believed to enhance players reaction and accuracy. In competitive games players have to respond to movements and dangers swiftly in order to avoid failures, which ultimately results in reaction development. Not only this, but also researches have demonstrated that people who play action-based games are less likely to make mistakes down the road.

Another key benefit of playing such games is the reduction of psychological problems. Undoubtedly, humans regardless of their age and background face some issues in life and fall the victim of depression. During such hard times, playing computer games can be the best solution. In game process, whether lose or win, a brain produces dopamine, a substance responsible for happy hormones and act as a mood booster. Last but not least, they have a positive influence on the way we learn languages. Since most games settings operate in foreign languages, mainly English, players inadvertently may pick up some good vocabulary. For instance, when I used to play the game called “Counter Strike” I learned the phrases such as defuse the bomb, hostages have been saved and many more.

To conclude, while computers games are regarded as harmful and thus be restricted, I firmly believe that humans can gain a lot from them. Not only do they improve our physical abilities, but also their contribution towards the decrease in psychic problems and enhancement of learning capabilities should not be denied.