Some people think that criminal behavior is caused by a person's genetics, while others believe that it is a result of their environment.

Both views have the right to exist. According to psychology, different people have different opinions, and that’s totally fine. But let’s take this topic to a deeper level and discuss both perspectives with some arguments.

Talking about “a person’s genetics” is a very sensitive topic. Why is that? First of all, not all of us are scientists or psychologists, so it’s harder for us to discuss such a complex subject without enough knowledge. In my opinion, it’s like trying to start a fire with matches in the snow. Just because one of your grandparents was a criminal doesn’t mean that you are going to be one too—just like having a doctor in the family doesn’t automatically make you a doctor. It doesn’t work like that.

What if a kid doesn’t even have a family but still becomes a criminal? A child’s biological family could consist of the best judges in the world, but the kid could still choose to steal something.

Now, let’s talk about the second opinion. This one actually makes more sense to me. Our environment influences us from childhood. Every child has a natural habit of mirroring older people. From a very young age, kids develop their own opinions by copying their parents’ mindsets. If a child sees their father or mother steal something from a grocery store, they might think that it’s not forbidden to do the same.

Summing everything up, we can’t confidently say which view is more accurate. So, it’s better to leave this discussion to professionals in the field of psychology.